Speak, Lord

“God speaks to me in my garden,” Inge says.

She really is only happy when she is digging in the dirt.

I reflect on that simple statement later. There was a time when the circles in which we moved would be highly skeptical, even critical, of such language. Me too, no doubt, seminary student that I was.

“Too subjective!” they would have claimed.
“Too easy to be misled!” they would have insisted.
“Only the Bible is authoritative communication from God!” said the scholars.

Keep living, and we discover that maybe the spiritual life is not nearly as rigidly defined as we thought.

How strange it would be, after all, to have a deep, intimate relationship with someone but never have any real, personal communication or interaction with them.

You don’t get that sense from the Bible. There on every page are stories of people actually talking with God about personal stuff and God actually responding to them. 

Speak, Lord.  Your servant is listening.

 

One thought on “Speak, Lord

  1. I loved this. It is true, we keep God in a certain box. I believe, myself, after having been saved a while that God really does “speak” to us. I have experienced it. I believe the more we are open to this the more we will be able to recognize His voice. Besides, how will you recognize His voice if you are not close to Him and spending my time with Him, listening or reading in His word what He wants us to know?

    Like

Leave a comment